About LHPC


About LHPC

Local Health Plans of California (LHPC) is a statewide trade association that represents all 17 local, not-for-profit health plans that provide access to critical and comprehensive healthcare services for low-income populations enrolled in California’s Medicaid program, “Medi-Cal,” in 51 out of 58 counties in the state. With 9.5 million enrollees, our plans serve approximately 70 percent of all Medi-Cal managed care beneficiaries. Our member plans cover more lives than 49 other states’ entire Medicaid programs.

For over 20 years, LHPC has supported member plans through policy development, advocacy, analysis and education. We work closely with the statewide agencies that regulate local health plans – Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) and Department of Managed Health Care (DMHC) – and with Covered California, the California State Legislature and providers across the state.

Learn more about LHPC’s integral role in local communities.

LHPC Member Plans

Local Health Plan Medi-Cal Managed Care Model County(ies) Served
Alameda Alliance for Health Single-Plan Alameda
CalOptima Health COHS Orange
CalViva Health Two-Plan/Local Initiative Fresno, Kings, Madera
CenCal Health COHS San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara
Central California Alliance for Health COHS Merced, Monterey, Santa Cruz
Community Health Group Geographic Managed Care San Diego
Community Health Plan of Imperial County Single-Plan Imperial County
Contra Costa Health Plan Single-Plan Contra Costa
Gold Coast Health Plan COHS Ventura
Health Plan of San Joaquin Two-Plan/Local Initiative San Joaquin, Stanislaus
Health Plan of San Mateo COHS San Mateo
Inland Empire Health Plan Two-Plan/Local Initiative Riverside, San Bernardino
Kern Health Systems Two-Plan/Local Initiative Kern
L.A. Care Health Plan Two-Plan/Local Initiative Los Angeles
Partnership HealthPlan of California COHS Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Glenn, Humbolt, Lake, Lassen, Marin, Mendocino, Modoc, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano,
Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba.
San Francisco Health Plan Two-Plan/Local Initiative San Francisco
Santa Clara Family Health Plan Two-Plan/Local Initiative Santa Clara